How to Add, Edit, or Remove People & Teams

This article explains how your team admin can add and manage UpKeep users:

  • Invite Your Team to Join UpKeep
  • Creating a Team with Users
  • Update a Team Member’s Account Type
  • Deactivate Users from UpKeep

[tip] Need to add more than 20 users at a time? Learn to Import Users to your Team! [/tip]


Invite Your Team to Join UpKeep

  1. Access your user list through the People & Teams page
  2. Click the “+ Person” button
  3. Select a User Account Type
  4. Enter your team member’s Email Address
  5. Click Invite Users

On Web:

​On Mobile:

​[tip]Not sure what roles are right for your team? Check out UpKeep’s different User Types[/tip]

[tip]When the user is added they will receive an email letting them set their password! They can also set/reset their password by going here.[/tip]


Creating a Team with Users

  1.  Access your user list through the People & Teams page
  2. On the People & Teams page, click the “Teams” toggle at the top
  3. On the Teams Overview, click the “+ Team
  4. Enter a team name
  5. Enter the team description
  6. Select Team Users
  7. Select Add Team

[tip] Teams are especially useful if you want to assign an entire team to a work order. Everyone on the team would be notified and can help complete the work order! [/tip]​​​​


Update a Team Member’s Account Type

  1. Access your user list through the People & Teams page
  2. Click the desired user for whom you’d like to change their Account Type
  3. Under Account Type, select the new account type

[tip] Admins cannot change their own account types. However, another Admin on the team can follow these steps to update the account type! [/tip]

On Web:​​

​[tip]Not sure what roles are right for your team? Check out UpKeep’s different User Types! [/tip]


Deactivate Users from UpKeep

(NOTE: This action cannot be reversed)

  1. Access your user list through the People & Teams page
  2. Click the desired user you’d like to deactivate/delete
  3. On the Profile page, select the trash can icon to Remove
  4. Confirm Are you sure you want to delete this user?” by clicking Delete.

[tip] You always want to have at least one admin on your team at all times. Admins will not be able to delete/remove themselves from the People & Teams section! [/tip]

On Web:​​

​[tip]Getting Started with UpKeep? Join our Account Set-up and Best Practices Webinar here.[/tip]