The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and SAE International have standards available that help asset managers organize and improve maintenance efforts. Adhering to these standards is important for passing audits, minimizing unplanned downtime, keeping maintenance staff safe, and building a positive culture.

In addition to accessing links to original standard documentation, you can follow the links below to get a summary of the information in each standard. This will help you determine whether now is the time to implement the standard in your organization.

ISO 55000

To comply with ISO 55000 you must have an asset management system. The goal of an asset management system is to establish the policies, objectives, and processes needed to achieve an organization’s goals.

ISO 55001

The components of an asset management system that are listed out in ISO 55000 are elaborated on in ISO 55001. These components include organizational context, leadership, planning, support, operation, performance evaluation, and improvement.

ISO 55002

ISO 55002 provides the most significant details needed to achieve compliance with ISO 55000.

SAE JA1011

SAE JA1011 was initially developed by the commercial aviation industry to improve the safety and reliability of their equipment. Because of this, it’s known as a Reliability-Centered Maintenance (RCM) process.

Table of contents